Update CheckBook
Get the latest features, fixes, and changes
What's New
3.1 - 10/12/2026
New Features- Ready for macOS 27 Golden Gate. Still works great on macOS 26 Tahoe, macOS 15 Sequoia, and all the way back to macOS 10.14 Mojave.
- Adds a sample field to the Edit Currency window so you can preview your changes.
- Sort Accounts alphabetically or by balance in the View > Accounts Sidebar submenu or by clicking the action button at the bottom of the Accounts sidebar. Hold the Option key on your keyboard for reverse sorting options.
Fixes
- Improves VoiceOver support in several parts of the application, such as in list views and in the Schedule Reminder.
- Reconcile > Ending Balance now accepts negative values on macOS 26 and later without resorting to a workaround.
- Fixes an issue that could prevent the File > New > Document from QIF or QMTF… command from honoring the selected date format.
- Supports the date format selected in System Settings > General > Language & Region on macOS 26 and later, just like on all previous macOS releases.
- Corrects an issue with the Budget Goal sheet’s Category popup button menu where items would appear to be incorrectly selected.
- Improves sheet dragging and resizing so you can move them out of the way and size as needed.
- Resolves a crash that could occur after you import a QIF or QMTF file.
- Corrects an issue with Schedules created from Debits with a check number.
- Nixes a glitch in date pickers that prevented you from entering some months or days then using the Y key to apply the current year.
- Resolves a potential crash on macOS 10.15 when entering the Schedule Reminder with any pending Scheduled Entries.
- Corrects a potential situation where a locked Account’s Resolved Balance could appear before you enter the Account’s password.
- Fixes an issue where the selection and Reconcile column layout aren’t restored when you open a document, the last selected Account is locked, and the Account’s Smart Folders or Folders are visible.
- Categories no longer lose their in-use status after substituting for other Categories.
- OFX/QFX import now works with files that blend SGML and XML.
- Includes minor interface adjustments, such as improved grid drawing and general layout corrections.
Changes
- Search > General option now matches split Entry Amounts.
- Account Summaries now leave out subtotal periods with zero activity by default, render subtotals closer to their names, and have tightened vertical spacing so your printouts are easier to read and use less paper.
- Sorting by Resolved or Tax-deductible now sorts by date secondary, order of entry tertiary.
Older Releases
3.0.3 - 6/12/2025
New Features- Mark groups of split line items as Tax-deductible with the new Action button in Entry and Schedule sheets.
- Search > Custom Date Range… now includes a Cancel button and automatically populates with the date range of your current date Search option.
- Ever tweak your appearance colors and take a wrong turn or two? Reset to the defaults: Click CheckBook > Settings > Light Appearance Colors/Dark Appearance Colors > Reset Appearance Colors and voilà!
Fixes
- Improves VoiceOver support.
- Prevents a hang you might see when trying to change a Category in the Import Preview.
- Heads off a crash that can happen after you manage your Currencies or the pending Scheduled Entries in the Schedule Reminder.
- Zaps a major performance issue when printing from Budget or Summary to some printer models.
- Corrects a few text and background color issues related to switching between light and dark mode.
- Nixes a glitch that could lead to unexpected behavior in the Settings/Preferences window if the preferred Entry font is no longer available.
- Corrects an issue that can prevent Budget Goals from remembering their Category when other subcategories have the same name.
- Prevents a potential error when using File > Sync… with documents upgraded from CheckBook 2.
- Includes minor QIF import improvements.
3.0.2 - 2/22/2025
Fixes- Corrects an issue preventing your custom Entry font from displaying right after upgrading from CheckBook 2.
- Prevents a crash when viewing some Account Summaries.
- Nixes a glitch with the icon in the document window titlebar.
- Includes a minor adjustment to address remaining in Demo Mode right after completing a Mac App Store purchase.
Changes
- Show the Accounts sidebar and the window will slide, if needed, so you’ll see the full sidebar. Hide the sidebar again without resizing or moving the window and the window will slide back to its original whereabouts.
- Reconciled checkmarks are now drawn without a checkbox, enhancing contrast.
- The colored background behind balances & totals is now a bit darker, also enhancing contrast.
3.0.1 - 2/5/2026
New Features- Now you can choose light mode or dark mode right inside CheckBook: Go to CheckBook > Settings… and look for Appearance under your color settings, near the top of the window.
Fixes
- Prevents a crash that can occur when you dismiss the Schedule Reminder.
- Nixes a glitch that could lead to a hang in the To, From, and Description boxes.
- Corrects a mistake in Summary that could lead to incorrect subtotals.
- Corrects a layout error in Summary that could prevent some subtotals from drawing.
- Restores support for using the Enter key to click the OK button in Entry sheets.
- Corrects an issue that could prevent dragging by the window background after resizing the Accounts sidebar.
Changes
- The Accounts sidebar now behaves more like the Accounts drawer in CheckBook 2, expanding away from your columns instead of covering them.
- Future Entries can now be full-intensity, if you so choose: Go to CheckBook > Settings… and slide the Future Entries slider, above the checkboxes near the bottom of the window, all the way to the right.
3.0 - 1/29/2025
- Initial release.