Splasm Software Discussions

a user community for the betterment of Splasmkind
It is currently Tue Nov 24, 2020 5:17 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Tab through Type
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 6:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:15 pm
Posts: 8
Did I miss something somewhere? My register is set to start at the date, and I used to tab to the type, and then to the amount. But not too long ago, it stopped allowing me to tab through the type. Is this new or did I check a box somewhere?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tab through Type
PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:01 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 648
Whether or not you can tab to make a Type selection is governed by a particular System Preference. So, if an OS update was performed recently, that could explain the difference in behavior, as those pesky updates can tend to revert certain settings back to the default settings.

Basically, the Type selector is what's called a menu button and, by default on the Mac, it's only possible to tab to text boxes and lists. To open tabbing back up to things like menu buttons, choose 'System Preferences...' from the Apple menu at the top of the screen, go to the Keyboard preferences section, hit the Shortcuts button, and then, below where it says 'Full Keyboard Access', select the 'All controls' option.

_________________
Allan Woodall
Phosphorescent Phage
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tab through Type
PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:15 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks! Very helpful - as always!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tab through Type
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2020 9:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 55
Location: England
Allan W. wrote:
hit the Shortcuts button, and then, below where it says 'Full Keyboard Access', select the 'All controls' option.


I've just had to refer back to this after re-installing Catalina to try to reduce lag in Finder.

It seems that in 10.15 Catalina this is now in Shortcuts then 'Use keyboard navigation to move focus between controls'.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group