Splasm Software Discussions

a user community for the betterment of Splasmkind
It is currently Sat Oct 23, 2021 11:32 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: To/From List
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 9:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 9:47 pm
Posts: 5
Is there a way to remove a To/From entry from the autocomplete list? I have someone named "Carl" that I made a payment to, but will probably never make another. Now, every time I type in "Ca", it brings up "Carl" first. Is there a way to edit the remembered To/From list so that it stops bringing him up first? I know Quicken had that option, but I can't find it anywhere in CheckBook. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: To/From List
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 7:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 395
pdillin wrote:
Is there a way to remove a To/From entry from the autocomplete list? I have someone named "Carl" that I made a payment to, but will probably never make another. Now, every time I type in "Ca", it brings up "Carl" first. Is there a way to edit the remembered To/From list so that it stops bringing him up first? I know Quicken had that option, but I can't find it anywhere in CheckBook. Thanks!

Accounts > Edit Account. From/To list is there to edit


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: To/From List
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 10:56 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 685
By default, the To/From list is actually an automatically maintained list that rotates through the last 50 used items so, with that setting, an old item will only get removed after 50 new ones are used. There is the option to switch over to a manually-maintained list under the Account options that t3rockhall is pointing you to, though. For that, you'll be able to use the swooping arrow button to get the existing list added to the list view there and then anything you select can be easily deleted using the slashed-circle button.

_________________
Allan Woodall
Phosphorescent Phage
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: To/From List
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2015 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:38 am
Posts: 5
I have the same issue and I am a bit confused by how to implement this solution. For example, I used to have an employee, "John Jones". He no longer works at the company and now I have an employee named "John Smith".

I want to remove John Jones from the database of AutoComplete names entirely. That way, I can enter John Smith's name faster and don't accidentally log a payment to John Smith as having gone to John Jones.

If I go to Account > Edit Account > To/From and select the radio button for "The Following To/From Items:", I am able to see a list that includes "John Jones" and remove him. That functionality works.

However, my assumption is that I am now stuck with that list and that the list does not continue to learn new entries that I will add over time. That solves my John Jones problem, but doesn't adapt to new entries from To/From unless I add each one individually through this same Account > Edit Account > To/From pane. that would be a painstaking process.

Unfortunately, after removing John Jones via the method above, I can't go back and re-select the radio button for "The Last {50} Entered To/From Items" because that brings back John Jones.

How does one remove an entry permanently without crippling the functionality of having CheckBook Pro AutoComplete from a list that still learns new entries automatically?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: To/From List
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:59 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 563
Location: Here and There
In the current system, there isn't a way to single out a particular Entry's To/From or Description from consideration because CheckBook dynamically looks for your recent Entries and generates the To/Froms and Descriptions lists as needed. To have it learn from recent Entries and allow for a particular To/From or Description to be eliminated would require maintaining separate lists of To/Froms and Descriptions, automatically added to when new Entries are created instead of generated on the fly, so that you could manage those lists when necessary. That's something we can think on, but, for now, the only way for CheckBook to eliminate a particular To/From or Description and keep presenting recent To/Froms and Descriptions is to create more Entries until the Entry you no longer want in consideration is beyond the setting you've selected in the Account options. In your example, it would drop out of consideration when it's 50 Entries in the past.

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
https://www.splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: To/From List
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:38 am
Posts: 5
OK, I understand. Thank you for your response and consideration.

I'll hope for it as a feature in a future release and - in the meantime - try to be more vigilant that I don't mistakenly AutoComplete with the wrong name.

I suppose that this issue, in relation to my workflow, is related to another issue I have with AutoComplete that I had inquired about previously. I believe in much earlier versions, the AutoComplete feature was based on recency rather than alphabetical order.

For instance, say I have an employee John Smith and a former employee John Jones (and have not added 50 new payees such that John Jones has rolled off my AutoComplete list).

Each time I type in "John", John Jones will pop up first because he is first alphabetically, even though I have only entered in John Smith for the past several months. I believe in an early version of Checkbook Pro, the default was for AutoComplete to choose the most recent matching entry rather than the first alphabetically. I'm not sure what works best for others, but if users could toggle this as a preference, that would certainly be helpful for me.

Thank you for your consideration.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: To/From List
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 5:07 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 685
We can certainly look at providing the feature in a future version. There actually was fairly recent switch to ordering items in the To/From items list alphabetically. The idea to go back to sorting chronologically or to provide a preference for toggling between chronological and alphabetical sorting for the list is a good one, so those are options we can look into as well.

_________________
Allan Woodall
Phosphorescent Phage
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: To/From List
PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2021 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 10:24 pm
Posts: 2
I'm wondering if this has been made an option, to remove a To/From entry from the autocomplete list? It would make things much faster and cleaner. Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: To/From List
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2021 9:56 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 685
The option hasn't been added yet, but it's something we'll continue to consider as we plan future updates.

_________________
Allan Woodall
Phosphorescent Phage
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: To/From List
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2021 7:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 10:24 pm
Posts: 2
Gosh it's been under consideration for 7 years. This cannot be that difficult, can it? :idea:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: To/From List
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2021 8:45 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 685
It's just not a heavily requested feature, unfortunately. We maintain a feature request list that doesn't every seem to dip below a hundred items long, and we try to plan updates based on the number of requests any particular feature has gotten. As it stands, only a handful of people have asked for this.

Most users who don't want to see old items in the To/From items list will lower the number of To/From items used to construct the list. If you didn't already try that, go up to click the Account menu, select the Edit Account menu option, and then click the To/From button, to check it out. Switching from the default 50 to 25 may very well do the trick.

_________________
Allan Woodall
Phosphorescent Phage
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group