Splasm Software Discussions

a user community for the betterment of Splasmkind
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:53 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: "Notes"
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 354
It appears that only the first line of notes posts to the register. If you enter a return and then a second line, only the data before the return appears. I can live with that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:27 pm
Posts: 251
Location: Minneapolis
Yeah. Noticed that too. I often pasted in confirmation messages from online payments and transactions and it is only the first paragraph that gets put in the notes field in my register. It would be nice if the entire note would pop up on a mouse over. Now it is just the first sentence.

PGRider


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:00 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 578
That's correct that only the first line will show in the Notes column when there's a carriage return input after it—this is mainly due to the fact that an Entry line can only actually hold a single row of Text. We could maybe look into processing returns as multiple spaces or tabs or something later on, this just wouldn't represent the true formatting.

Also, the idea to show an entire Note when you hover over it with the cursor is a good one. Currently, double-clicking on a Note will open up the whole thing. Perhaps that'll do for now?

_________________
Allan Woodall
Phosphorescent Phage
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:27 pm
Posts: 251
Location: Minneapolis
That'll do for now. Glad you like the idea of the "hovering" note reveal!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 354
I sometimes use notes to explain splits, like if I buy a couple of items from Amazon and the charges are separated, or parts and labor for my oil burner guy. For now, I'll use semicolons. It isn't a big deal, and it's certainly an improvement over the old. I like the hovering idea, though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:27 pm
Posts: 251
Location: Minneapolis
So I'm thinking: Wouldn't it be great to be able to edit notes directly from within the register? That way I could just add or change a note without going through the whole process of double clicking to open the transaction. I've seen this done in other apps.

Just a thought!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:54 pm
Posts: 48
If you’re entering the notes manually, you can get multiple lines by using the soft return (shift-enter)... when recalling the note, it displays the info broken across multiple lines (at least it did in my quick test of the feature). It may not help for cut/paste operations, but for small blocks of text, you could always edit the hard returns out and replace them with soft returns.

_________________
Waiting for the iOS version of CheckBook Pro since 2009


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 354
DWF wrote:
If you’re entering the notes manually, you can get multiple lines by using the soft return (shift-enter)...

That doesn't work on my iMac with the wireless Apple Keyboard.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:54 pm
Posts: 48
t3rockhall wrote:
DWF wrote:
If you’re entering the notes manually, you can get multiple lines by using the soft return (shift-enter)...

That doesn't work on my iMac with the wireless Apple Keyboard.


That’s interesting... works perfectly on my MBP... hmmm...

_________________
Waiting for the iOS version of CheckBook Pro since 2009


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 3:14 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Here and There
Hi all,

Soft returns can usually be entered with Option-Return.

While it's not yet possible to begin editing a Note without changing the Entry, in 2.5 and later you can double-click a field or value to begin changing an Entry and immediately begin editing that field or value. This works even for Type, Resolved and Tax-Deductible, as long as full keyboard access is enabled in your Keyboard System Preferences pane. So double-click an Entry's Notes field and you should be taken right to the Notes for that Entry.

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com

Follow us on Twitter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 354
keithg wrote:
Soft returns can usually be entered with Option-Return.

Not on my iMac. I dont seem to be able to enter soft returns in CB notes on my bluetooth Apple keyboard. Not a big deal.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 1:03 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Here and There
Hrm. Option-Return has been a convention on the Mac for a very, very long time. It works on our Apple wireless keyboards. Does the Option key work in other situations, like Option-close window to close all the windows in the Finder?

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com

Follow us on Twitter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: "Notes"
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 2:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 354
keithg wrote:
Hrm. Option-Return has been a convention on the Mac for a very, very long time. It works on our Apple wireless keyboards. Does the Option key work in other situations, like Option-close window to close all the windows in the Finder?

actually, isn't it command-option-w? No matter it doesn't work either. command-option L DOES open the download folder, so the keys seem to be working. I instinctively close windows with command-W.

Just to be sure, I zapped the PRAM before trying this out. Next step will be to use a wired keyboard and see what happens. It's not a Splasm issue, so don't worry about it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group