Splasm Software Discussions

a user community for the betterment of Splasmkind
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:11 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:47 pm
Posts: 37
I setup Accounts for each year. Is there a way to duplicate an Account so that all of the scheduled transactions, Types, To/From info, etc. get copied over? Or do I really have to re-enter all of that info every time I want to create a new Account?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:27 pm
Posts: 249
Location: Minneapolis
I suppose you could do a "save as" to start anther data file. Name the file a different name from the original. Open up the new file and then manually delete all the transactions. That should leave you with a new clean data file, no transactions, but with all the other info you need, such as recurring transactions, categories, and the like.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:47 pm
Posts: 37
I'll give it a try. Thanks!

Update: It didn't work. None of the Types made it through the Export / Import process. Good idea, though...

Update #2: I found you can go into the new Account, choose Edit Account, choose Types, then click on the arrow icon at the bottom right of the window. That allows you to Import Types from another Account. 'Tis a shame you can't do that with Scheduled Entries...


Last edited by BruceK on Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:27 pm
Posts: 249
Location: Minneapolis
Try to save the file under a different name. That way you should have all the information intact. You would then just delete the transactions. That should leave you with what you need. You wouldn't need to do any exporting or importing because you would have essentially the same data file, just the new one would not have any transactions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 354
You guys are nuts. There's NOTHING to do. You don't have to set up a new account. Just use Smart Folders for accounts, to cover a year from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31. It's simply a continuation of what you had, just filtered so you only see transactions in the year specified. If a scheduled amount changes, just change it. I've been doing this for YEARS.


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 11.21.46 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 11.21.46 AM.png [ 73.47 KiB | Viewed 1811 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 12:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:27 pm
Posts: 249
Location: Minneapolis
Seems there might have been a better way to state your solution without resorting to name calling. What a great way to begin a new year!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 354
prider wrote:
Seems there might have been a better way to state your solution without resorting to name calling. What a great way to begin a new year!

No insult intended. Happy new year to all! And may 2017 bring the iOS Checkbook to our devices!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:47 pm
Posts: 37
I tried your suggestion but in my limited testing it doesn't seem as if Scheduled entries appear in the new Smart folder as expected.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 354
BruceK wrote:
I tried your suggestion but in my limited testing it doesn't seem as if Scheduled entries appear in the new Smart folder as expected.

The Smart Folder simply filters the account to only show those items that fall within the criteria. It has no effect on any entries. including the scheduled entries. In fact, you can click on the main account (above the smart folders) and it will show everything in that account from its inception. Perhaps you have set the criteria incorrectly.

First, click on the account, then select Create Smart Folder.

Also, be sure the last date of the scheduled payment is within the dates of the Smart Folder and hasn't been "completed."

This all assumes you want to continue an account forward. If you want to actually create a new account, say, you have changed banks, then no, you can't do that.


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2017-01-02 at 10.50.26 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-01-02 at 10.50.26 AM.png [ 31.53 KiB | Viewed 1797 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 12:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 48
Location: England
t3rockhall wrote:
prider wrote:
... may 2017 bring the iOS Checkbook to our devices!


:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vaporware


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 354
redmelons wrote:
t3rockhall wrote:
prider wrote:
... may 2017 bring the iOS Checkbook to our devices!


:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vaporware

I was being sarcastic, but you knew that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group