Splasm Software Discussions
http://www.splasm.com/forum/

Moving entries from one account to another
http://www.splasm.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6593
Page 1 of 1

Author:  BobbiePeck [ Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:06 am ]
Post subject:  Moving entries from one account to another

Hi,
I have several accounts set up in Checkbook Pro and would like to move some entries from one account to another. I did a search on this topic in the forum and the responses (that it could not be done yet) were several years old. Is there now a way to do this? Please give instructions if there is. Thanks.

Author:  Allan W. [ Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

The case is still the same that the capability isn't there yet. We're still looking at making the option for copying entries between accounts available in a future version, though.

Author:  GLWilson [ Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

BobbiePeck wrote:
Hi,
I have several accounts set up in Checkbook Pro and would like to move some entries from one account to another. I did a search on this topic in the forum and the responses (that it could not be done yet) were several years old. Is there now a way to do this? Please give instructions if there is. Thanks.


This is the first significant problem I have had with CBP! Maybe I'm a klutz, but I run into a need to move a transaction every few weeks! It's a nuisance to have to delete and re-enter a transaction just to move it. All the other accounting programs I have used over the last several years have this function. Please consider getting this one fixed!

Author:  Vickie [ Sat Nov 12, 2016 1:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

Does Checkbook have this capability now? I accidentally enter transactions into the wrong account on a fairly regular basis :( and I was able to move those pretty easily with Quicken. :D

Can I do that in Checkbook?

Thanks,

Vickie

Author:  prider [ Sat Nov 12, 2016 2:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

Nope. Sorry.

Author:  Vickie [ Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

Poops. That is a fairly basic one that we really need!

Author:  mbb04915 [ Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

I have also entered transactions into the wrong account. For that reason I once suggested that we be allowed to change the colors of the banners of the different accounts to make it vividly obvious which account which we were in.

Lower tech solution?

Author:  t3rockhall [ Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

Making the title of the account (in the center of the banner) bigger might help, with a minimum of programming.

But there is a (sort of) solution now: In Account > Edit Account you can set and change the icon for that account. There are 10 credit card colors, houses, cars, piles of cash, animals, and more ... these appear on the left part of the banner on the Entry page. They also appear in the accounts drawer on the right.

Attachments:
Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.17.23 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.17.23 PM.png [ 45.24 KiB | Viewed 5673 times ]
Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.13.32 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.13.32 PM.png [ 29.81 KiB | Viewed 5674 times ]
Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.11.18 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.11.18 PM.png [ 34.38 KiB | Viewed 5674 times ]

Author:  Allan W. [ Wed Apr 05, 2017 12:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

As of version 2.5.15, entries can easily be moved between accounts. In CheckBook, entries can be copied/pasted from one account to another. In Pro, they can be copied/pasted and/or dragged.

Pro users can go to http://www.splasm.com/checkbookpro/update.html to get the latest version to ensure they have access to the new feature. Or, CheckBook users can visit http://www.splasm.com/checkbook/update.html to do the same.

Author:  Vickie [ Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

Yay!!!! :D

Author:  t3rockhall [ Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

Allan W. wrote:
As of version 2.5.15, entries can easily be moved between accounts. In CheckBook, entries can be copied/pasted from one account to another. In Pro, they can be copied/pasted and/or dragged.

Pro users can go to http://www.splasm.com/checkbookpro/update.html to get the latest version to ensure they have access to the new feature. Or, CheckBook users can visit http://www.splasm.com/checkbook/update.html to do the same.

Cool. What other features did you put into this revision???

Author:  Allan W. [ Fri Apr 07, 2017 9:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Moving entries from one account to another

New in 2.5.15

- Copy & paste Entries and Schedules. You can even paste to applications like TextEdit, Numbers, and Excel.

Fixed in 2.5.15

- Properly restores the way you’ve set up the columns in the Schedule section
- Prevents a crash that could happen when switching documents
- Updated application and document icons for better compatibility with macOS 10.12 Sierra
- Resolves a situation where some Account balances wouldn’t update right after Scheduled Entries were committed
- Corrects an issue where some fonts might condense so much that characters overlap. Cough. Geneva.
- Improved support for importing reconciled transactions
- A few user interface tweaks and performance enhancements

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/