Splasm Software Discussions

a user community for the betterment of Splasmkind
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:54 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2015 12:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 12:32 pm
Posts: 1
I did notice today, after upgrading to El Capitan, that CheckBook 2.5.7 would quit unexpectedly after importing a .QIF file. After importing, all the data showed up, but I would move the cursor and click on another window on the desktop, and CheckBook would quit, with an error report window a second later. This was happening repeatedly, I would need to reopen and reimport the .QIF each time. I disabled password protection on the file, but that didn't help. An error report was sent to Apple. I didn't do any other actions in CheckBook, just opened and imported the data. The .QIF was downloaded from Chase Bank's online site, if that helps.

Bizarrely, after doing this four times, I reopened CheckBook, the imported data was there, and it hasn't quit (yet).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 5:12 pm
Posts: 12
I have encountered a similar problem as the one Tom M. noted. I import a QFX file from my bank into Checkbook Pro. Everything works great until I drag the imported file from my desktop into the trash. When I do this, Checkbook Pro
quits and a report pops up saying "Checkbook Pro quit unexpectedly." The data in my check register is correct--only dragging the QFX file to the trash causes the quit message.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 2:32 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Here and There
Hello everyone!

CheckBook and CheckBook Pro 2.5.7 can crash after importing a bank statement, so we've got a fix for you. 2.5.8 Beta 2 is now available at http://www.splasmata.com/?p=2952 and includes all the little fixes we've been working on since the end of July. If you have the issue with importing statements and give this build a go, please let us know how it works for you. Thanks!

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com

Follow us on Twitter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 6:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 5:12 pm
Posts: 12
Keith, the beta build worked fine for me. Thanks for the help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 9:18 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Here and There
timberguy wrote:
Keith, the beta build worked fine for me. Thanks for the help.


Awesome! I'm glad it helped out there.

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com

Follow us on Twitter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 6:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 6:30 pm
Posts: 4
Keith,

I was able to download the beta and install it successfully - and it fixed everything you said it would (yay!). I had already purchased Checkbook Pro from Apple's App Store. When I launch the beta, it's asking me to enter a serial number. When I looked on the page that you linked, there was a link to follow to get a single-use serial number. However, when I follow the link, I couldn't see a way to get that single-use serial number.

I'm currently using Checkbook Pro without a serial number. Are there going to be any limitations that I should watch for? (I will update the app from the App Store when I see a new version is posted.)

Thanks!
Cait


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 2:30 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Here and There
Hi Cait!

The Mac App Store version of CheckBook Pro has been updated to the final 2.5.8 so you'll want to visit the Mac App Store, click the Purchased button at the top of the window, and click the Install or Update button next to CheckBook Pro. After the update, it shouldn't ask for a serial number like the beta...

...but if you're asked for one anyway, that means the version that's running isn't the update from the Mac App Store. That happens when two or more copies are on the same Mac, because the Mac App Store updates the first one it finds, which could be anywhere. In that case, you'll want to do a Spotlight search to find all the copies of "CheckBook Pro.app" on your Mac, move them all to the Trash, then revisit the Mac App Store's Purchased section to install a fresh copy.

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com

Follow us on Twitter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 6:30 pm
Posts: 4
Problem fixed!

I never got prompted to update my copy of Checkbook Pro via the Mac App store. I deleted the Checkbook Pro app in my Applications folder (that I had downloaded from your website, using the information upthread) and reinstalled via the Mac App store. I'm now able to import QIF files without unexpected quits. No data lost, everything is hunky-dory :)

Thanks, keithg!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 5:59 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 578
We're glad to hear you're all set, Cait!

_________________
Allan Woodall
Phosphorescent Phage
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group